“Night” Journal Entry 2

“Behind me, I heard the same man asking: For God’s sake, where is God? And from within me, I heard a voice answer: Where He is? This is where-hanging here from this gallows…”  Page 65

I feel like Elie and the other prisoners just lost all hope. I think they are saying that their God and savior is hanging there dying. They feel like if he dies then there will be no one to save them. It’s kinda like when Jesus was on the cross and people were asking why he doesn’t save himself. The prisoners were seeing this boy who had brightened their days even though he was living in this miserable place just like them. If a young boy could stay positive and survive so could they. 

Leave a Reply

